AST-2017-013: chan_skinny: Call pthread_detach when sess threads end
authorGeorge Joseph <gjoseph@digium.com>
Thu, 30 Nov 2017 20:38:50 +0000 (13:38 -0700)
committerGeorge Joseph <gjoseph@digium.com>
Fri, 1 Dec 2017 19:29:52 +0000 (13:29 -0600)
commit075faac2fd74a79b4f418d1d02a864383b076d05
treec00ddea5a61e895197446e6d0cbe4eb1c84cc1aa
parent5de9754313ee30080c591fab7f0aef74a65f2417
AST-2017-013: chan_skinny: Call pthread_detach when sess threads end

chan_skinny creates a new thread for each new session.  In trying
to be a good cleanup citizen, the threads are joinable and the
unload_module function does a pthread_cancel() and a pthread_join()
on any sessions that are active at that time.  This has an
unintended side effect though. Since you can call pthread_join on a
thread that's already terminated, pthreads keeps the thread's
storage around until you explicitly call pthread_join (or
pthread_detach()).   Since only the module_unload function was
calling pthread_join, and even then only on the ones active at the
tme, the storage for every thread/session ever created sticks
around until asterisk exits.

* A thread can detach itself so the session_destroy() function
  now calls pthread_detach() just before it frees the session
  memory allocation.  The module_unload function still takes care
  of the ones that are still active should the module be unloaded.

ASTERISK-27452
Reported by: Juan Sacco

Change-Id: I9af7268eba14bf76960566f891320f97b974e6dd
(cherry picked from commit 8f5dff543e457ee3450d21e741901609af0cd779)
channels/chan_skinny.c