config: Speed up ACO & sorcery initialization
authorSean Bright <sean.bright@gmail.com>
Fri, 1 Dec 2017 14:29:43 +0000 (09:29 -0500)
committerSean Bright <sean.bright@gmail.com>
Fri, 1 Dec 2017 14:41:02 +0000 (08:41 -0600)
commit1ad0fbc80ec3e1bed54b34d7888269c50d074c1c
tree9fd851b121e84299b019194b5327d793908407c4
parent5de9754313ee30080c591fab7f0aef74a65f2417
config: Speed up ACO & sorcery initialization

When starting Asterisk in the foreground, there is a perceptible delay
when loading modules that use the ACO and sorcery config frameworks.
For example, a lightly configured res_pjsip took 853ms to load on my
VM.

I tracked down the slowness to the XPath queries used to associate the
relevant documentation with the config options. One improvement was
adding a call to xmlXPathOrderDocElems after loading an XML document.
From the libxml2 docs:

  Call this routine to speed up XPath computation on static documents.

The second change was to remove recursive descent and wildcard
operators from the XPath queries. After these changes, res_pjsip takes
85ms to load on my VM and there is no longer a perceptible delay when
starting Asterisk in the foreground.

Change-Id: I45d457f1580e26bf5a2b0dab16e8e9ae46dcbd82
main/config_options.c
main/xml.c