logger: Added logger_queue_limit to the configuration options.
authorGeorge Joseph <gjoseph@digium.com>
Mon, 8 May 2017 21:11:19 +0000 (15:11 -0600)
committerGeorge Joseph <gjoseph@digium.com>
Mon, 8 May 2017 21:49:13 +0000 (16:49 -0500)
commit201346fb7dff373d73a0663d1b05d968685013c7
tree002cae51072ab320208696a92857bd515270eecb
parentd96f755682c16141962d0fc7914cd46263f8a961
logger:  Added logger_queue_limit to the configuration options.

All log messages go to a queue serviced by a single thread
which does all the IO.  This setting controls how big that
queue can get (and therefore how much memory is allocated)
before new messages are discarded. The default is 1000.
Should something go bezerk and log tons of messages in a tight
loop, this will prevent memory escalation.

When the limit is reached, a WARNING is logged to that effect
and messages are discarded until the queue is empty again.  At
that time another WARNING will be logged with the count of
discarded messages.  There's no "low water mark" for this queue
because the logger thread empties the entire queue and processes it
in 1 batch before going back and waiting on the queue again.
Implementing a low water mark would mean additional locking as
the thread processes each message and it's not worth it.

A "test" was added to test_logger.c but since the outcome is
non-deterministic, it's really just a cli command, not a unit
test.

Change-Id: Ib4520c95e1ca5325dbf584c7989ce391649836d1
CHANGES
configs/samples/logger.conf.sample
include/asterisk/logger.h
main/logger.c
tests/test_logger.c