media_index.c: Refactored so it doesn't cache the index
authorGeorge Joseph <gjoseph@digium.com>
Tue, 22 Jan 2019 15:02:06 +0000 (08:02 -0700)
committerGeorge Joseph <gjoseph@digium.com>
Mon, 28 Jan 2019 19:26:58 +0000 (12:26 -0700)
commit7071e9d64c96c152672e530a8c426208c20e4b1f
treeb9ca8c0abe41e3f50b21a026b3b70231f6b673c3
parent6118b65a5a9a2d75dbed26a6f49c0dc21b49e80f
media_index.c: Refactored so it doesn't cache the index

Testing revealed that the cache added no benefit but that it could
consume excessive memory.

Two new index related functions were created:
ast_sounds_get_index_for_file() and ast_media_index_update_for_file()
which restrict index updating to specific sound files.

The original ast_sounds_get_index() and ast_media_index_update()
calls are still available but since they no longer cache the results
internally, developers should re-use an index they may already have
instead of calling ast_sounds_get_index() repeatedly.  If information
for only a single file is needed, ast_sounds_get_index_for_file()
should be called instead of ast_sounds_get_index().

The media_index directory scan code was elimininated in favor of
using the existing ast_file_read_dirs() function.

Since there's no more cache, ast_sounds_index_init now only
registers the sounds cli commands instead of generating the
initial index and subscribing to stasis format register/unregister
messages.

"sounds" is no longer a valid target for the "module reload"
command.

Both the sounds cli commands and the sounds ari resources were
refactored to only call ast_sounds_get_index() once per invocation
and to use ast_sounds_get_index_for_file() when a specific sound
file is requested.

Change-Id: I1cef327ba1b0648d85d218b70ce469ad07f4aa8d
CHANGES
include/asterisk/media_index.h
include/asterisk/sounds_index.h
main/media_index.c
main/sounds.c
res/ari/resource_sounds.c