res_pjsip: Change default from user value.
authorMark Michelson <mmichelson@digium.com>
Fri, 4 Sep 2015 19:40:38 +0000 (14:40 -0500)
committerMark Michelson <mmichelson@digium.com>
Fri, 4 Sep 2015 19:48:20 +0000 (14:48 -0500)
commit993ae9a669778aa9e8edcc42e3183b12e80a4d69
tree59c42f389987c0fe19da53e784c6765fa80780e7
parentc15d8cc0ed110ace9e85cce0857524358139c075
res_pjsip: Change default from user value.

When Asterisk sends an outbound SIP request, if there is no direct
reason to place a specific value for the username in the From header,
Asterisk would generate a UUID. For example, this would happen when
sending outbound OPTIONS requests when qualifying or when sending
outbound INVITE requests when originating (if no explicit caller ID were
provided). The issue is that some SIP providers reject these sorts of
requests with a "Name too long" error response.

This patch aims to fix this by changing the default outbound username in
From headers to "asterisk". This value can be overridden by changing the
default_from_user option in the global options if desired.

ASTERISK-25377 #close
Reported by Mark Michelson

Change-Id: I6a4d34a56ff73ff4f661b0075aeba5461b7f3190
contrib/ast-db-manage/config/versions/154177371065_add_default_from_user.py [new file with mode: 0644]
include/asterisk/res_pjsip.h
res/res_pjsip.c
res/res_pjsip/config_global.c