chan_iax2: Set plaintext auth to deprecated as per ASTERISK-22820
authorvarnav <varnavruz@gmail.com>
Wed, 24 Aug 2016 09:44:15 +0000 (12:44 +0300)
committervarnav <varnavruz@gmail.com>
Thu, 25 Aug 2016 08:25:55 +0000 (11:25 +0300)
commitd2e03c252d128d43fdbfe5906e238e8e0f90c0ab
treef249170be5684564b561622f70ba9384ec66d189
parente40aa40aca1a18538fe08267296ca9a2847ad63a
chan_iax2: Set plaintext auth to deprecated as per ASTERISK-22820

Starting from draft 2 of RFC 5456 (October 23, 2006) plaintext auth
is not supported in IAX2 protocol. Please refer to section 8.6.13 of
RFC 5456.

But plaintext auth is still supported by Asterisk implementation of IAX2.
This support should be dropped.

Patch, based on asterisk-dev discussion, adds deprecation warning on
startup if 'auth' is set to 'plaintext', changes default values of
'auth' from 'md5, plaintext' to 'md5'.

Patch is safe in terms of backwards compatibility, will work even if
remote peers have auth=plaintext and we have defaults.

auth=plaintext setting will remain deprecated in Asterisk 14 and 15,
and IAX2 plaintext support will be removed in Asterisk 16.

ASTERISK-22820 #close

Change-Id: I5d2f3830cb57645604818f87518916e8a5c317bf
CHANGES
channels/chan_iax2.c