config: Speed up config template lookup
authorSean Bright <sean.bright@gmail.com>
Fri, 1 Dec 2017 16:01:01 +0000 (11:01 -0500)
committerSean Bright <sean.bright@gmail.com>
Fri, 1 Dec 2017 17:14:04 +0000 (11:14 -0600)
commitd9fdeae6a476d9fb0a1eb0c6147fc81e32056e42
tree25846877b5b97617045c427460cf2b1e59efbfa6
parent5de9754313ee30080c591fab7f0aef74a65f2417
config: Speed up config template lookup

ast_category_get() has an (undocumented) implementation detail where it
tries to match the category name first by an explicit pointer comparison
and if that fails falls back to a normal match.

When initially building an ast_config during ast_config_load, this
pointer comparison can never succeed, but we will end up iterating all
categories twice. As the number of categories using a template
increases, this dual looping becomes quite expensive. So we pass a flag
to category_get_sep() indicating if a pointer match is even possible
before trying to do so, saving us a full pass over the list of current
categories.

In my tests, loading a file with 3 template categories and 12000
additional categories that use those 3 templates (this file configures
4000 PJSIP endpoints with AOR & Auth) takes 1.2 seconds. After this
change, that drops to 22ms.

Change-Id: I59b95f288e11eb6bb34f31ce4cc772136b275e4a
main/config.c