bridges/bridge_softmix: Remove SSRC changes on join/leave; update video source
authorMatt Jordan <mjordan@digium.com>
Fri, 4 Nov 2016 20:33:35 +0000 (15:33 -0500)
committerMatt Jordan <mjordan@digium.com>
Fri, 4 Nov 2016 20:50:10 +0000 (15:50 -0500)
commitfb17b630a5992a920dd2d81d6f8c1183c29fe353
treef258f69eb7fcb2157e6ff5dc8a681bac0f392ef2
parentbf01ff53f8d93d637981720331405e56f0b3b118
bridges/bridge_softmix: Remove SSRC changes on join/leave; update video source

WebRTC clients really, really want to know the SSRC of the media they're
getting. Changing the SSRC is generally not a good thing.

bridge_softmix, starting in Asterisk 12, started changing the SSRC of
parties as they joined or left the bridge. With most phones, this isn't
a problem: phones just play back the stream they're getting. With WebRTC
clients, however, the SSRC is tied to a media stream that may be
negotiated. When a new SSRC just shows up, the media can be dropped.

As it turns out, the SSRC change shouldn't even be necessary. From the
perspective of the client, it's still talking to Asterisk with the same
media stream: why indicate that the far party has suddenly changed to a
different source of media?

This patch opts to just remove the SSRC changes. With this patch, video
clients that join/leave a softmix bridge actually get the video stream
instead of freaking out.

ASTERISK-26555

Change-Id: I27fec098b32e7c8718b4b65f3fd5fa73527968bf
bridges/bridge_softmix.c