res_pjsip_authenticator_digest: Don't use source port in nonce verification
authorKevin Harwell <kharwell@digium.com>
Thu, 5 May 2016 16:37:37 +0000 (11:37 -0500)
committerKevin Harwell <kharwell@digium.com>
Mon, 9 May 2016 19:17:43 +0000 (14:17 -0500)
From the issue reporter:
"res_pjsip_outbound_authenticator_digest builds a nonce that is a hash of
the timestamp, the source address, the source port, a server UUID that is
calculated at startup, and the authentication realm.

Rather than caching nonces that we create, we instead attempt to re-calculate
the nonce when receiving an incoming request with authentication. We then
compare the re-calculated nonce to the incoming nonce, and if they don't match,
then authentication has failed early.

The problem is that it is possible, especially when using TCP, to receive two
requests from the same endpoint but have differing source ports for those
requests. Asterisk itself commonly will use different source ports for
outbound TCP requests."

This patch removes the source port dependency when building the nonce.

ASTERISK-25978 #close

Change-Id: I871b5f4adce102df1c4988066283095ec509dffe

res/res_pjsip_authenticator_digest.c

index a512b45..4bc35c5 100644 (file)
@@ -206,9 +206,12 @@ static int build_nonce(struct ast_str **nonce, const char *timestamp, const pjsi
        RAII_VAR(char *, eid, ao2_global_obj_ref(entity_id), ao2_cleanup);
        char hash[33];
 
+       /*
+        * Note you may be tempted to think why not include the port. The reason
+        * is that when using TCP the port can potentially differ from before.
+        */
        ast_str_append(&str, 0, "%s", timestamp);
        ast_str_append(&str, 0, ":%s", rdata->pkt_info.src_name);
-       ast_str_append(&str, 0, ":%d", rdata->pkt_info.src_port);
        ast_str_append(&str, 0, ":%s", eid);
        ast_str_append(&str, 0, ":%s", realm);
        ast_md5_hash(hash, ast_str_buffer(str));