res/res_rtp_asterisk.c: Fixing possible divide by zero
authorsungtae kim <sungtae@messagebird.com>
Sun, 3 Mar 2019 15:20:24 +0000 (16:20 +0100)
committerJoshua Colp <jcolp@digium.com>
Mon, 11 Mar 2019 12:09:09 +0000 (09:09 -0300)
Currently, when the Asterisk calculates rtp statistics, it uses
sample_count as a unsigned integer parameter. This would be fine
for most of cases, but in case of large enough number of sample_count,
this might be causing the divide by zero error.

ASTERISK-28321

Change-Id: If7e0629abaceddd2166eb012456c53033ea26249

res/res_rtp_asterisk.c

index 84b2088..6a5fb0a 100644 (file)
@@ -3075,6 +3075,14 @@ static double normdev_compute(double normdev, double sample, unsigned int sample
        normdev = normdev * sample_count + sample;
        sample_count++;
 
+       /*
+        It's possible the sample_count hits the maximum value and back to 0.
+        Set to 1 to prevent the divide by zero crash if the sample_count is 0.
+        */
+       if (sample_count == 0) {
+               sample_count = 1;
+       }
+
        return normdev / sample_count;
 }
 
@@ -3091,6 +3099,14 @@ static double stddev_compute(double stddev, double sample, double normdev, doubl
        stddev = sample_count * stddev;
        sample_count++;
 
+       /*
+        It's possible the sample_count hits the maximum value and back to 0.
+        Set to 1 to prevent the divide by zero crash if the sample_count is 0.
+        */
+       if (sample_count == 0) {
+               sample_count = 1;
+       }
+
        return stddev +
                ( sample_count * SQUARE( (sample - normdev) / sample_count ) ) +
                ( SQUARE(sample - normdev_curent) / sample_count );