modules.conf.sample: Update preload usage documentation.
authorRichard Mudgett <rmudgett@digium.com>
Mon, 22 Oct 2018 19:31:27 +0000 (14:31 -0500)
committerRichard Mudgett <rmudgett@digium.com>
Wed, 24 Oct 2018 17:50:48 +0000 (12:50 -0500)
Change-Id: Id449d4435c38148b56ac4cfd61ae4d90ac66bb90

configs/samples/modules.conf.sample

index 179e9ef..c6c0dbc 100644 (file)
@@ -8,26 +8,26 @@
 autoload=yes
 ;
 ; Any modules that need to be loaded before the Asterisk core has been
-; initialized (just after the logger has been initialized) can be loaded
-; using 'preload'. This will frequently be needed if you wish to map all
-; module configuration files into Realtime storage, since the Realtime
-; driver will need to be loaded before the modules using those configuration
-; files are initialized.
+; initialized (just after the logger initialization) can be loaded
+; using 'preload'.  'preload' forces a module and the modules it
+; is known to depend upon to be loaded earlier than they normally get
+; loaded.
 ;
-; An example of loading ODBC support would be:
-;preload => res_odbc.so
-;preload => res_config_odbc.so
+; NOTE: There is no good reason left to use 'preload' anymore.  It was
+; historically required to preload realtime driver modules so you could
+; map Asterisk core configuration files to Realtime storage.
+; This is no longer needed.
 ;
-; Uncomment the following if you wish to use the Speech Recognition API
-;preload => res_speech.so
+;preload => your_special_module.so
 ;
 ; If you want Asterisk to fail if a module does not load, then use
 ; the "require" keyword. Asterisk will exit with a status code of 2
 ; if a required module does not load.
 ;
-; require = chan_sip.so
+; require = chan_pjsip.so
+;
 ; If you want you can combine with preload
-; preload-require = res_odbc.so
+; preload-require = your_special_module.so
 ;
 ;load => res_musiconhold.so
 ;