build_tools/make_version: Update version parsing for Git migration
authorMatt Jordan <mjordan@digium.com>
Mon, 13 Apr 2015 14:54:18 +0000 (09:54 -0500)
committerMatt Jordan <mjordan@digium.com>
Mon, 13 Apr 2015 15:33:30 +0000 (10:33 -0500)
commit3f9aa29945d0eb2fd91f1c0f03b6c9409d86e0d1
treea9011fc6d9c273c60238c6b4bb39561db8896548
parent1174ef588dafe864fe3f2c1f8297690def8f85d1
build_tools/make_version: Update version parsing for Git migration

External systems - such as the Asterisk Test Suite - require knowledge of the
upstream branch. Unfortunately, after moving to Git, the Asterisk version
currently consists of only a 'GIT" prefix followed by an object blob,
e.g., GIT-as08d7. This makes it difficult for such systems to know what
features are available in a particular check out of Asterisk.

This patch fixes this by hardcoding the branch in a variable in the
make_version script. Since the mainline branches are not changed often -
typically only once a year - this is a reasonable approach to solving
the problem, and is more reliable than parsing the output of 'git branch
-vv'. Branches that track off of an upstream primary branch will then get the
benefit of knowing which mainline branch they are currently based off
of.

ASTERISK-24954 #close

Change-Id: I8090d5d548b6d19e917157ed530b914b7eaf9799
build_tools/make_version