pjproject_bundled: Prevent SERVFAIL from marking name server bad
authorGeorge Joseph <gjoseph@digium.com>
Wed, 7 Sep 2016 19:48:48 +0000 (13:48 -0600)
committerGeorge Joseph <gjoseph@digium.com>
Thu, 15 Sep 2016 13:23:39 +0000 (08:23 -0500)
commit47c527df0a9f32cc821565eb84885c2957bf00fd
treeec094cc9e796575af21fd12685c95769fadaaa65
parent95cf4f8d3128d3c972126efd5b7e4e7b55486fa2
pjproject_bundled:  Prevent SERVFAIL from marking name server bad

A name server that returns "Server Failure" is indicating only that
the server couldn't process that particular request.  We should NOT
assume that the name server is incapable of serving other requests.

Here's the scenario we've been encountering...

* 2 local name servers configured in resolv.conf.
* An OPTIONS request causes a request for A and AAAA records to go out
  to both nameservers.
* The A responses both come back successfully resolved.
* Because of an issue at some upstream nameserver, the AAAA responses
  for that particular query come back as "SERVFAIL" from both local
  name servers.
* Both local servers are marked as bad and no further queries can be
  sent until the 60 second ttl expires.  Only previously cached results
  can be used.
* In this case, 60 seconds is just enough time for another OPTIONS
  request to go out to the same host so the cycle repeats.

We could set the bad ttl really low but that also affects REFUSED and
NOTAUTH which probably DO signal a real server issue.  Besides, even
a really low bad ttl would be an issue on a pbx.

Although we use our own resolver in 14 and master and don't have this
issue there, Teluu has merged this patch upstream so it's appropriate
to cherry-pick to 14 and master to keep pjproject consistent.

Change-Id: Ie03ba902288e274aff23f9b9bb2786e1e8be09e0
third-party/pjproject/patches/0004-resolver.c-Prevent-SERVFAIL-from-marking-name-server.patch [new file with mode: 0644]